clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Bradenton Marauders win Florida State League championship

Tommy Gilligan-USA TODAY Sports

At the big-league level, the Pirates are in the midst of a terrible stretch of play, but for whatever it's worth, there was a bit of good news last night from the minors. The Bradenton Marauders clinched the Florida State League championship with a 3-1 series win over the Tampa Yankees last night. It was the Marauders' first FSL championship since joining the league several years back.

Taylor Gushue homered in last night's 4-1 win for the Marauders. Pablo Reyes doubled, and Wyatt Mathisen had two hits. J.T. Brubaker allowed one run while striking out five over six innings, and Tanner Anderson struck out five more in three scoreless innings of relief. A paltry 657 people apparently attended the game.

The Marauders had previously finished the regular season with 70 wins and 66 losses. They got a big boost early on from 2015 first-round pick Kevin Newman, who batted .366/.428/.494 for them before being promoted. Pitchers Yeudy Garcia, Alex McRae and Tate Scioneaux were also key contributors.