clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Pirates agree to terms with 21 pre-arbitration players

Houston Astros v Pittsburgh Pirates Photo by Justin K. Aller/Getty Images

The Pirates have announced that they’ve agreed to terms with the following players on contracts for the 2017 season.

Josh Bell
Chris Bostick
Steven Brault
Elias Diaz
Adam Frazier
Tyler Glasnow
Phil Gosselin
Alen Hanson
Clay Holmes
Nick Kingham
Chad Kuhl
Pat Light
Max Moroff
Dovydas Neverauskas
Gift Ngoepe
Jose Osuna
Felipe Rivero
A.J. Schugel
Jameson Taillon
Tyler Webb
Trevor Williams

This is, of course, pretty routine stuff. Players with less than three years of service time don’t have much leverage to ask for more than the big-league minimum if they’re in the majors, so they almost always get close to that as a matter of course. (Unless, of course, they sign long-term extensions — Gregory Polanco has less than three years of service, but he’ll receive $1 million this year because of the long-term deal he signed at the beginning of last season.) The other 19 players on the Pirates’ 40-man roster were already signed to deals for 2017, and all those players are set to receive more than the big-league minimum