clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Parker to appear on Hall’s Modern Era ballot

Philadelphia Phillies v Pittsburgh Pirates Photo by Justin K. Aller/Getty Images

Dave Parker could be the next former Pirate to be enshrined in the Baseball Hall of Fame.

The hard-hitting outfielder, who also had cannon for a throwing arm, is among nine former players whose names will appear on the Hall’s Modern Baseball Era ballot, which will be reviewed and voted upon Dec. 8 at baseball’s Winter Meetings.

Parker would need to receive 12 of 16 votes to gain admission to Cooperstown next year. He also appeared on the ballot in 2017 but failed to gain the required number of votes.

Parker is joined on the ballot by Dwight Evans, Steve Garvey, Tommy John, Don Mattingly, Thurman Munson, Dale Murphy, Ted Simmons and Lou Whitaker. Also on the ballot is Marvin Miller, who guided the Major League Baseball Players Association from 1966 to 1982.

Parker played 19 seasons in the big leagues, including 11 with Pittsburgh from 1973 through 1983. He was a key cog in the club’s 1979 World Series championship team and later won a second ring with the Oakland A’s in 1989.

In 9,358 career at-bats, Parker finished with an .810 OPS, with his best mark (.979) coming during his 1978 MVP season with the Bucs. That year, he batted .334 to win one of his two batting titles and totaled 30 home runs and 117 RBIs.

He also won the batting title in 1977 (.338) and three times he led the National League in total bases, including back-to-back seasons with his hometown Reds in 1985-86.

He finished his career with 2,712 hits, scored 1,272 runs, drove in 1,493 runs and slugged 339 home runs in 2,466 games.

Parker was named to seven All-Star teams, won three Silver Slugger Awards and captured three Gold Glove Awards for his play in right field.

The Modern Baseball Era covers players whose best years came from the 1970-1987 era. A 16-member voting committee that includes members of the Hall of Fame, executives and media members will be voting on the award.